Cook Islands at the 28th Council of Tourism Meeting

SPTO Press Release

Associate Minister for Tourism Hon. Tai Tura represented the Cook Islands at the recent 28th Council of Tourism Ministers Meeting held in Apia Samoa.

With the theme, ‘Protecting our Blue Pacific, our Livelihood and our Home’, the council concluded deliberations on regionalism and ways to further stimulate visitor growth through sustainable tourism development.


The Council elected the Honourable Prime Minister of Samoa, Tuilaepa Fatialofa Lupesoliai Dr. Sailele Malielegaoi as the new Chairman. During the meeting, the Ministers endorsed:

-          Applications from Rapa Nui, Wallis & Futuna and Tokelau to become new members of the South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO)

-          Resolutions from the SPTO Board of Directors meeting

-          SPTO 2019 Work Plan and Budget

-          The SPTO member countries fully support the China Pacific Tourism Year 2019  (CPTY 2019)

-          Council of Regional Organisations of the Pacific (CROP) Charter


The Ministers were briefed and noted presentations from the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat (PIFS), Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP), The Pacific Community (SPC), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation Pacific Office (UNESCO) and Elemental Water Makers.

Attending the Council meeting were Hon. Tuilaepa Fatialofa Lupesoliai Dr. Sailele Malielegaoi - Prime Minister of Samoa and Chairman of the Council, Hon. Bob Loughman- Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Tourism of Vanuatu, Hon. Tai Tura - Cook Islands, Hon. Dennis Momotaro - Republic of the Marshal Islands, Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo - Solomon Islands, with other member Islands represented by proxies including American Samoa, China, Fiji, French Polynesia, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste and Tonga.